Skip to content

Badawi’s 2008 new Cabinet line-up

March 18, 2008

As reported in thestar online today, Tuesday 18 March …

It’s a 27-seat Cabinet line-up. More than half of the ministers are new faces.

Gone: Ong Ka Ting, Samy Vellu, Rafidah Aziz, Chan Kong Choy, Fong Chan On, Jamaluddin Jarjis, Azmi Khalid, Radzi Sheikh Ahmad, Abdul Aziz Shamsuddin, Tengku Adnan, Sharizat Abdul Jalil, Abdullah Md Zin, Chua Soi Lek, Lim Keng Yaik, Mohd Effendi Norwawi, Zainuddin Maidin


The full list:

Prime Minister
Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi

Deputy Prime Minister
Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak

Ministers in the Prime Minister’s Department

Tan Sri Bernard Dompok
Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz
Datuk Ahmad Zahid Hamidi
Datuk Mohd Zaid Ibrahim
Datuk Amirsham Abdul Aziz

Deputy Ministers in the Prime Minister’s Department
Datuk Johari Baharom
Datuk Dr Mashitah Ibrahim
Datuk K. Devamany
Datuk Hassan Malik

Minister – Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi
Second Finance Minister – Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop
Deputies – Datuk Ahmad Husni Hanadzlah, Datuk Kong Cho Ha

Minister – Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak
Deputy – Datuk Wira Abu Seman Yusop

Internal Security and Home Affairs
Minister – Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar
Deputies – Datuk Chor Chee Heong, Senator Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh

Housing and Local Government
Minister – Datuk Ong Ka Chuan
Deputies – Datuk Robert Lau , Datuk Hamzah Zainuddin

Works Minister
Minister – Datuk Mohd Zin Mohamad
Deputy – Datuk Yong Khoon Seng

Energy, Water and Communications
Minister – Datuk Shaziman Abu Mansor
Deputy – Datuk Joseph Salang Gandum

Agriculture and Agro-based Industry
Minister – Datuk Mustapa Mohamed
Deputy – Datin Paduka Rohani Abdul Karim

International Trade and Industry
Minister – Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin
Deputies – Loh Wei Keong, Datuk Jacob Dungau Sagan

Foreign Affairs
Minister – Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim
Deputy – Tunku Azlan Abu Bakar

Minister – Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein
Deputies – Datuk Wee Ka Siong, Datuk Razali Ismail

Higher Education
Minister – Datuk Khaled Nordin
Deputies – Khoo Kok Choong, Datuk Idris Harun

Minister – Datuk Ong Tee Keat
Deputy – Anifah Aman

Human Resources
Minister – Datuk S. Subramaniam
Deputy – Datuk Noraini Ahmad

Women, Family and Community Development
Minister – Datuk Dr Ng Yen Yen
Deputy – Noriah Kasnon

National Unity, Culture, Arts and Heritage
Minister – Datuk Shafie Apdal
Deputy – Datuk Teng Boon Soon

Science, Technology and Innovation
Minister – Datuk Dr Maximus Ongkili
Deputy – Fadilah Yusof

Entrepreneurial and Cooperative Development
Minister – Datuk Noh Omar
Deputy- Datuk Saiffuddin Abdullah

Natural Resources and Environment
Minister – Datuk Douglas Unggah Embas
Deputy – Datuk Abu Ghapur Salleh

Rural and Regional Development
Minister – Tan Sri Muhammad Muhd Taib
Deputy – Tan Sri Joseph Kurup

Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs
Minister – Datuk Shahrir Samad
Deputy – Jelaing Mersat

Plantation Industries and Commodities
Minister – Datuk Peter Chin Fah Kui
Deputy – Senator A. Kohilan

Youth and Sports
Minister – Datuk Ismail Sabri Yaacob
Deputy – Wee Jack Seng

Minister – Datuk Liow Tiong Lai
Deputy – Datuk Dr Abdul Latiff Ahmad

Minister – Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek
Deputy – Datuk Tan Lian Hoe

Minister – Datuk Azalina Othman
Deputy – Datuk Sulaiman Abdul Rahman Abu Taib

Minister – Datuk Zulhasnan Rafique
Deputy – M. Saravanan “

From → Malaysia Upclose

  1. one-for-all permalink

    How can I explain this to my son? Thats is alright for a keris-waving guy to lead in our Education ministry? It would be easier if he is given a role in our Defense or Foreign Affairs’ ministry. Cant wait for PRU13!
    When can we have a Malay capable to lead us without threat/force?

  2. wat’s wif those red-colored “colorful” politicians? any elaborations?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Badawi’s 2008 Cabinet line-up
  2. Watching the factions / Failure leading to success « ringisei

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: