Skip to content

Six ex-Election Commission commissioners to face tribunal

January 25, 2019

A tribunal has been set up to investigate allegations of misconduct committed by the EC in the run-up to and on the day of the 14th general election.

Attorney-General Tommy Thomas, in a statement, said the tribunal comprised five members who are retired judges of the Federal Court.

They are Steve Shim Lip Kiong, who has been appointed the chairperson, Zaleha Zahari, Suriyadi Halim Omar, Jeffrey Tan Kok Wha and Prasad Sandosham Abraham.

They were appointed by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong pursuant to Articles 114(3), 125(3), and 125(4) of the Federal Constitution, said Thomas.

“The tribunal will convene in Klang on Monday at 10am to deliberate on matters pursuant to their mandate by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong in relation to the following six members of the EC.”

The six are Othman Mahmood, Mohd Yusop Mansor, Abdul Aziz Khalidin, Sulaiman Narawi, K Bala Singam, and Leo Chong Cheong.

Thomas said the counsel assisting the tribunal in the matter are M Puravalen of the Malaysian Bar and M Kogilambigai and Ann Khong Hui Li from the Attorney-General’s Chambers (AGC).

On Oct 17 last year, it was reported that the government had begun the process of setting up the tribunal.

This was followed by the resignation of six EC members with the last resignation tendered on Nov 27. All their resignations took effect from Jan 1 this year.

Former EC chairperson Mohd Hashim Abdullah

It was not immediately known why the former EC chairperson Mohd Hashim Abdullah (above) is not subject to the tribunal.

Malaysiakini has contacted the AGC for clarification.

Hashim shortened his tenure and left the EC on July 1 last year.

“The shortening of his service tenure has been approved by the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong and informed through a letter from the Comptroller of the Royal Household dated June 7, 2018,” the EC said in a statement last year.


From → Malaysia Upclose

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: