Skip to content

No Deputy PM post as Muhyiddin announces ‘Cabinet that delivers’

March 9, 2020

* Bersatu takes the lion’s share of Muhyiddin’s cabinet
* All but one Azmin-led defectors appointed into new gov’t (deputy speaker Rashid Hasnon)
* Factsheet: Your questions about Muhyiddin’s cabinet answered
* Six new senators to be sworn in tomorrow
* Bingo! Perikatan has just clinched its majority in parliament
* Elok benar jika jawatan TPM dapat diberikan kepada Mukhriz …  

PUTRAJAYA: There will be no deputy prime minister in the new Cabinet line-up announced by Muhyiddin Yassin today.

The prime minister also confirmed that no former Barisan Nasional leaders facing corruption charges will be in the Cabinet.

Muhyiddin also announced the creation of four senior ministers, to help him in his duties as prime minister, including chairing Cabinet meetings in his absence.

“With the senior ministers there is no need to appoint a deputy prime minister for the time being,” said Muhyiddin.

The senior ministers are:

Mohamed Azmin Ali (Bersatu, exPKR);
deputy Lim Ban Hong (Senator, MCA)
(International Trade and Industry)

Ismail Sabri Yaakob (Umno);
deputy Ikhmal Hisham Abdul Aziz (Bersatu)

Fadillah Yusof (GPS)
deputy Shahrudin Md Salleh (Bersatu)


Mohd Radzi Md Jidin (Bersatu)
deputies Mah Hang Soon (Senator, MCA); Muslimin Yahaya (Bersatu)


Muhyiddin said the senior ministers will enable better coordination between the ministries.

“In short, I want to form a Cabinet that can really give the best service to the people, a cabinet that delivers.”

The following names were also submitted to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong to become part of the Cabinet:

Minister in the PM’s Dept (Law)
Takiyuddin Hassan (PAS)
deputy Eddin Syazlee Shith (Bersatu)

Minister in the PM’s Dept (Islamic Affairs)
Zulkifli Mohamad Al-Bakri (Senator)
deputy Ahmad Marzuk Shaary (PAS)

Minister in the PM’s Dept (Special Functions)
Redzuan Yusof (Bersatu)
deputy Mastura Yazid (Umno)

Minister in the PM’s Dept (Sabah/Sarawak Affairs)
Maximus Ongkili (PBS)
deputy Hanifah Hajar Taib (GPS)

Agriculture and Food Industry Minister
Ronald Kiandee (GPS)
deputies Ahmad Hamzah (Senator, Umno); Che Abdullah Mat Nawi (Umno)

Communications and Multimedia Minister
Saifuddin Abdullah (Bersatu, exPKR)
deputy Zahidi Zainul Abidin (Umno)

Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister
Alexander Nanta Linggi (GPS)
deputy Rosol Wahid (Bersatu)

Economic Affairs Minister
Mustapa Mohamed (Bersatu)
deputy Arthur Joseph Kurup (PBRS)

Energy and Natural Resources Minister
Shamsul Anuar Nasarah (Umno)
deputy Ali Biju (Bersatu, exPKR)

Entrepreneur and Co-operative Development Minister
Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar (GPS)
deputy Mas Ermieyati Samsudin (Bersatu)

Environment Minister
Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man (PAS)
deputy Ahmad Masrizal Muhammad (Senator, Umno)

Federal Territories Minister
Annuar Musa (Umno)
deputy Edmund Santhara Kumar (Bersatu, exPKR)

Finance Minister
Tengku Zafrul Aziz (Senator)
deputies Abd Rahim Bakeri (Umno); Mohd Shahar Abdullah (Umno)

Foreign Affairs Minister
Hishammuddin Hussein (Umno)
deputy Kamaruddin Jaffar (Bersatu, exPKR)

Health Minister
Dr Adham Baba (Umno)
deputies Dr Noor Azmi Ghazali (Bersatu); Aaron Ago Dagang (GPS)

Higher Education Minister
Noraini Ahmad (Umno)
deputy Mansor Othman (Bersatu, exPKR)

Home Minister
Hamzah Zainudin (Bersatu)
deputies Ismail Mohamed Said (Umno); Jonathan Yasin (Bersatu, exPKR)

Housing and Local Government Minister
Zuraida Kamaruddin (Bersatu, exPKR)
deputy Ismail Abd Mutalib (Umno)

Human Resources Minister
M Saravanan (MIC)
deputy Awang Hashim (PAS)

National Unity Minister
Halimah Mohamed Sadique (Umno)
deputy Tiong King Sing (GPS)

Primary Industries Minister
Mohd Khairuddin Aman Razali (PAS)
deputies Wee Jeck Seng (MCA); Willie Mongin (Bersatu, exPKR)

Rural Development Minister
Abd Latiff Ahmad (Bersatu)
deputies Abdul Rahman Mohamad (Umno); Henry Sum Agong (GPS)

Science and Technology Minister
Khairy Jamaluddin (Umno)
deputy Ahmad Amzad Hashim (PAS)

Transport Minister
Wee Ka Siong (MCA)
deputy Hasbi Habibollah (GPS)

Tourism, Arts and Culture Minister
Nancy Shukri (GPS)
deputy Jeffrey Kitingan (STAR)

Women, Family and Community Development Minister
Rina Harun (Bersatu)
deputy Siti Zailah Mohd Yusoff (PAS)

Youth and Sports Minister
Reezal Merican Naina Merican (Umno)
deputy Wan Ahmad Fayhsal Wan Ahmad Kamal (Senator, Bersatu)



From → Malaysia Upclose

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: